Login

russian armor

CoH 2 - Customizeable Hotkeys [NOSCRIPT]

25 Oct 2013, 12:16 PM

Hello guys,

I'm iAMcHETs(Known as RTz045) and I recently bought Company of Heroes 2(Played the beta) to code a tool so you guys can customize your own hotkeys. First of all, before I go any further in this, I'm new to the coding world, been learning straigth up for 3 - 4 months and this is basicly my second 'big' Project.

How am I planning to do this? Well basicly, everygame has a file where the keybindings are saved in, which I already found in Company of heroes 2, it's called Keydefaults.lua, extracted in the DATA.sga file. After reading a bit more about modding in company of heroes I've seen alot of people having problems with modifying the DATA.sga, same thing happend to me. The settings do change, but you'll get weird 'bugs', like something 'll be corrupted or whatever. My problem at the moment is that whenever I get into a game, my HUD seems to be there but not my actual game, for example: http://imgur.com/md4vJ2j

Trying to find a solution for this, which means I have to do some research why it's doing this, is it because of the SGA compiler?.. If I can't mange to fix this I'll most likely be stuck in my project, so I've been thinking about what else I could do and I came to the conclusion that I've 2 options,
1. I find a way to fix the problems with the data.sga,
2. I find a way to import it differently, so by not modifying the data.sga - and maybe I could make a "new" mod, but I'm not sure if you'll be able to play against each other, gotta do some research about that.

What if I fixed it?