Login

russian armor

[1v1] USF v OKW

9 Sep 2016, 01:23 AM

Hey guys,
It's been a while since I played. So I warmed up on a couple of easy AI games and I thought I was ready.
Then my opponent got OKW. I've never used seriously or played against OKW, so I'd be behind on tactical decisions, besides my new(oo)byness.

The replay speaks for itself, but some points:

1. He spammed so-so infantry units. I don't know if Riflemen can trade against Volks, I tried sometimes, but his swarm was better than mine, I couldn't keep the pressure. I don't know if as USF I could, probably yes, but notice I'm a beginner here, anytips are welcome.
and I had trouble adapting to his Kugel.

2. He focused on my fuel, I couldn't quite get it. My Stuarts were delayed, I think I did a good job, but it was so delayed that he got heavy armor while I couldn't afford a Sherman. I got a major, but the whole game I couldn't reach for shermans. Probably I shouldn't have got that second Stuart. What do you guys think?

3. My AT drop... What could Ive done?

4. I really couldn't keep the pressure. Sometimes I did, sometimes it worked well. But since I was fighting from behind on the map, I wasn't sure where I could put effort to conquer. I tried to scout leaving a unit here and there, but I wasn't sure. Any major hints here?

I think that's it. Any input is really helpful guys. Thanks a lot =)
9 Sep 2016, 18:16 PM

Will look at it and give some tips.
9 Sep 2016, 19:25 PM

Traveling, so can't watch the replay, but based on your questions I'll try to help a little.

Rifles vs volks is an interesting matchup. Close range, rifles will win, but it usually comes down to numbers, rng, and who is fighting from cover. Later, bars will help, but are mitigated by the volks' stg upgrade. In the early game use different map lanes for each rifle squad to create flanks and 2 on 1s.

I'd recommend going straight for captain against okw to counter their light vehicles until you feel very comfortable with lt tier.