Login

russian armor

How-to: Custom Population Cap

26 Dec 2013, 21:22 PM
#1
avatar of Janne252
Admin Red  Badge

Posts: 1731

How-To: Custom Population Cap



Basics



In this tutorial you will learn how to set a custom population cap limit for your map. To do this, you will need a basic text editor. Microsoft Notepad is suitable for this job and you already have it. In case you'd like to consider getting a bit better tool for this, I would recommend using notepad++, which you can download from notepad-plus-plus.org

Important Note



One thing you should notice and understand before going any further:
Every time you save your map in WorldBuilder, yourMapname_ID.scar will be re-generated by the WorldBuilder. This means you have to add the code every time after saving the map if you wish to export the package. If you haven't saved your map yet, do it now!

Map Files



Have you ever looked into your map folder? Perhaps you have and you know there are bunch of files laying around related to your map. For example the yourMapname.sgb file, which is the main file containing all the data of your map. There are also other files, such as yourMapname.tga, yourMapname.info, yourMapname.options, and yourMapname_ID.scar.
The one we are interested in this tutorial is yourMapname_ID.scar.

yourMapname_ID.scar file



Well, what is this file in particular and why are we so interested about it?
yourMapname_ID.scar contains the list of Scar markers, entity groups aka. egroups, and squad groups aka. sgroups from your map. This file is sort of a directory of items listed above. This file also gives us the ability to include custom SCAR script to the map. In this tutorial we will use it for a very basic implementation.

Adding code to edit population cap



Open yourMapname_ID.scar in notepad / notepad++. It should look something like this:
Code

function OnInitID()

-- [[ Markers ]]

-- [[ Squad Groups ]]

-- [[ Entity Groups ]]

end


Normally, when no Scar markers are placed nor squad/entity groups assigned (sgroups and egroups) yourMapname_ID.scar will look exactly like this. Let's get into adding the custom population cap code!

Add the following code below the line function OnInitID():
Code

--Population cap override value
g_popCapOverRide = 200

for i = 1, World_GetPlayerCount() do
local player = World_GetPlayerAt(i)
Player_SetPopCapOverride(player, g_popCapOverRide)
end


The result should look something like this:
Code

function OnInitID()
--Population cap override value
g_popCapOverRide = 200

for i = 1, World_GetPlayerCount() do
local player = World_GetPlayerAt(i)
Player_SetPopCapOverride(player, g_popCapOverRide)
end

-- [[ Markers ]]

-- [[ Squad Groups ]]

-- [[ Entity Groups ]]

end


Testing the results



Save the yourMapname_ID.scar and close the file. Goto WorldBuilder and DO NOT SAVE the map! You should have done that earlier. Just do File -> Export Package, run the game, start a match with your map. You should now be able to see the population cap of 200 in your map.

Configuring the code to match your needs



I assume you are not happy with the population cap of 200. Perhaps you'd like to make it 300? Well, doing that is quite easy. I assume you already know how to do it if you spent some time reading the code you pasted into yourMapname_ID.scar. You can edit the population cap by changing the value of popCapOverRide, e.g. change it to 300 by doing following:
Code

g_popCapOverRide = 300


Hit save, Export package, run your map and voilà!


Conclusions


In this tutorial you learned how to set a custom population cap for your map. I tried to spend some time to explain stuff a bit more briefly instead of making this tutorial as humanly short as possible. Hopefully this will give you a better understanding of what you did instead of just adding the code to a file and getting results without knowing why. If you have any additional questions, feed back, or suggestions for future tutorials, please let me know in this thread!


26 Dec 2013, 22:54 PM
#2
avatar of TheSphinx

Posts: 19

thx a lot for this instructions.

the popcap on standartmaps is too low.

thanks for the great work janne
26 Dec 2013, 23:00 PM
#3
avatar of Qvazar

Posts: 723

Are there any documentation for the API some where?
How do you know there's global functions named World_GetPlayerCount and Player_SetPopCapOverride?

I don't want the fish, I want to learn how to fish! :)
26 Dec 2013, 23:17 PM
#4
avatar of Janne252
Admin Red  Badge

Posts: 1731

jump backJump back to quoted post26 Dec 2013, 23:00 PMQvazar
Are there any documentation for the API some where?
How do you know there's global functions named World_GetPlayerCount and Player_SetPopCapOverride?

I don't want the fish, I want to learn how to fish! :)


Here ya go, a very basic instructions on how to use a fishing rod.
26 Dec 2013, 23:19 PM
#5
avatar of Von Kluge
Director of Social Media Badge

Posts: 960

Imagine if Qvazar gets up to speed and forms an allegiance with Janne... Ultramegamoddingteam !
26 Dec 2013, 23:38 PM
#6
avatar of Qvazar

Posts: 723



Here ya go, a very basic instructions on how to use a fishing rod.

EXACTLY what I was asking for, thank you, instant bookmark! :wub:
26 Dec 2013, 23:44 PM
#7
avatar of Janne252
Admin Red  Badge

Posts: 1731

jump backJump back to quoted post26 Dec 2013, 23:38 PMQvazar

EXACTLY what I was asking for, thank you, instant bookmark! :wub:


Keep in mind that some of those functions might be outdated. For example BP_IsPropertyBagGroupValid(groupname) does not exist in CoH2. That is the only major function missing. Others are more or less already useless.
11 Feb 2014, 21:04 PM
#8
avatar of ozzy1001

Posts: 1

cant get it to work.

function OnInitID()
--Population cap override value
g_popCapOverRide = 200

for i = 1, World_GetPlayerCount() do
local player = World_GetPlayerAt(i)
Player_SetPopCapOverride(player, g_popCapOverRide)
end

-- [[ Markers ]]

-- [[ Squad Groups ]]

-- [[ Entity Groups ]]

end

this is the code in my testmap file. Also i cant find downloaded maps with worldbuilder

is it still possible to increase popcap?
11 Feb 2014, 22:32 PM
#9
avatar of Janne252
Admin Red  Badge

Posts: 1731

Are you sure you have exported the map after saving <mapname>_ID.scar with that content? The code seems fine to me. Please note you have to add the code again if you save the map in the WorldBuilder.
24 Jun 2014, 20:47 PM
#10
avatar of RivetrPlate12

Posts: 4

Thank you very much !
1 user is browsing this thread: 1 guest

Operations

Rewind Events Summer Cup sign ups close in...

SHOUT IT OUT!

No Profanity Number of Shouts
Refresh Shout Box
kreatiir: Napalm, you on tonight?
Today, 16:24 PM
frostbite: as for immobile howis i think they need to have longer barrages like they used to with a little more reload
Today, 16:20 PM
frostbite: also ppl forget pwerfer with officer is omg uber.... get 3 pwerfers or somshiz and use officer barrage ability and they all get to barrage without recast
Today, 16:04 PM
frostbite: wat i love about pwerfer, same kat slapsh, more mobile in and out unit. dont gta worry about 7-8 secs for barrage to finish, dont worry about rockets hitting buildings, more armor then kat and has mg
Today, 16:03 PM
frostbite: cannonade i agree with u that howis should be better then mobile, im just trying to point out that a pwerfer can be just as effective vs allies as a kat is to axis... i been killing the heck out of blobs with pwerfer. and u got panthers backup
Today, 15:56 PM
KovuTalli: Didn't help it was partially premade as well vs complete public's, so that's mainly why we lost, but all one guy did was spam rifles and it worked so bit butthurt/kneejerk reaction but yeah... still dumb you can just Move with rifles and win fights vs volk
Today, 15:55 PM
kreatiir: 1 SPOT LEFT FOR THE EU BRACKET! http://www.coh2.org/topic/21144/-1v1-summer-cup--season-1/page/2
Today, 15:54 PM
KovuTalli: Was a 3v3 that game, but it's sad that something like that can work. I was fighting 2v1 at some points as his Soviet ally kept coming across (my allies were a bit useless)
Today, 15:51 PM
kamk: 1v1 or team games?
Today, 15:50 PM
KovuTalli: How as Okw? Get kubels? If he just puts 2 control groups he can run 1 in to kubel fire and the other moves in and kills kubel, and thats if Kubel doesn't spin or fuck up its movement. Stuka he can just retreat or run forward to avoid it.
Today, 15:49 PM

Ladders Top 10

  • #
    Steam Alias
    W
    L
    %
    Streak
Data provided by Relic Relic Entertainment

Replay highlight

Board Info

539 posts in the last 24h
4788 posts in the last week
17444 posts in the last month
Registered members: 7382
Welcome our newest member, IronCross
Most online: 472 users on 22 Jul 2014, 23:02 PM