Login

russian armor

ZIS bug! How does it work exactly?

20 Apr 2020, 14:55 PM
#1
avatar of aerafield

Posts: 2717 | Subs: 4

Hello, I decided to make a thread & video about the most common version of the ZiS bug and explain how exactly it gets triggered, so that people can try to avoid it in their games.



At the end of the barrage, the crew steps away from the gun for 0.5 sec as you may have noticed. If you issue an order in that exact moment, the gun bugs out. So make sure you don't spam click when you come close to the 4th shell, try to make sure the animation gets finished completely. Giving orders before the 4th round has been fired is not a problem
20 Apr 2020, 14:57 PM
#2
avatar of Lago

Posts: 3260

It might be better to hide this thread.

Triggering the ZiS bug accidentally is pretty rare, but if people know how to do it there's a good risk they try to trigger it deliberately in advantageous positions.
20 Apr 2020, 14:59 PM
#3
avatar of aerafield

Posts: 2717 | Subs: 4

jump backJump back to quoted post20 Apr 2020, 14:57 PMLago
It might be better to hide this thread.

Triggering the ZiS bug accidentally is pretty rare, but if people know how to do it there's a good risk they try to trigger it deliberately in advantageous positions.


the ghost ZiS bug with 0men crew has been fixed IIRC so you cant really abuse it anymore. You wouldnt get any advantage from causing it intentionally
A_E
20 Apr 2020, 15:07 PM
#6
avatar of A_E
Lead Caster Badge
Donator 11

Posts: 2419 | Subs: 6

Yes now the Zis gun bug is a disadvantage it's probably better people knew how to avoid it, previously it would have been more of an issue to spread this info.
20 Apr 2020, 15:15 PM
#7
avatar of Aerohank

Posts: 2691 | Subs: 1

jump backJump back to quoted post20 Apr 2020, 14:57 PMLago
It might be better to hide this thread.

Triggering the ZiS bug accidentally is pretty rare, but if people know how to do it there's a good risk they try to trigger it deliberately in advantageous positions.


Like.. how? When is it a good idea to lose your AT gun through a bug?
20 Apr 2020, 15:19 PM
#8
avatar of Unit G17

Posts: 498

I wonder if it's possible to forcibly lock in place the zis gun before it would accept any move orders to avoid this bug.
20 Apr 2020, 15:41 PM
#10
avatar of SneakEye
Senior Modmaker Badge

Posts: 787 | Subs: 5

This is very helpful, now I can finally test some changes!

So I changed the 'use_accessory_weapon' action to an 'artillery_attack' action which has no functional differences as far as I know, but the crew doesn't re-setup the weapon now.

Could you help me test it? I haven't been able to reproduce it yet with these changes:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/cy4ltuooadg04ru/at_gun_test.sga?dl=0
You need to save it in: C:\Users\NAME\Documents\my games\company of heroes 2\mods\tuning.

20 Apr 2020, 15:52 PM
#11
avatar of aerafield

Posts: 2717 | Subs: 4

This is very helpful, now I can finally test some changes!

So I changed the 'use_accessory_weapon' action to an 'artillery_attack' action which has no functional differences as far as I know, but the crew doesn't re-setup the weapon now.

Could you help me test it? I haven't been able to reproduce it yet with these changes:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/cy4ltuooadg04ru/at_gun_test.sga?dl=0
You need to save it in: C:\Users\NAME\Documents\my games\company of heroes 2\mods\tuning.



sure thing! I need to select it in custom game tuning pack then?
20 Apr 2020, 15:53 PM
#12
avatar of SneakEye
Senior Modmaker Badge

Posts: 787 | Subs: 5

sure thing! I need to select it in custom game tuning pack then?

Thanks! Yes indeed.
20 Apr 2020, 16:00 PM
#13
avatar of aerafield

Posts: 2717 | Subs: 4


Thanks! Yes indeed.


Oh my god I think you did it! I was not able to reproduce the bug at all, and I canceled the barrage on a lot of points during the barrage (beginning, halfway through, end etc)
20 Apr 2020, 16:02 PM
#14
avatar of Toyvendor

Posts: 40 | Subs: 1

A fix to zis bug, this is a glorious day.
20 Apr 2020, 16:04 PM
#15
20 Apr 2020, 16:09 PM
#16
avatar of SneakEye
Senior Modmaker Badge

Posts: 787 | Subs: 5

Oh my god I think you did it! I was not able to reproduce the bug at all, and I canceled the barrage on a lot of points during the barrage (beginning, halfway through, end etc)

:banana:


Do you think we need more tests to be 100% sure? Otherwise I will write down all changes and send in to the patch team.
20 Apr 2020, 16:09 PM
#17
avatar of Grumpy

Posts: 1905



Like.. how? When is it a good idea to lose your AT gun through a bug?


I had it happen once where the AT gun was overlooking a VP. I couldn't give it any commands but it fired at everything in its arc and really caused a problem for the other player. It made a section of the map dangerous for armor and also gave vision.
20 Apr 2020, 16:19 PM
#18
avatar of BartonPL

Posts: 2806 | Subs: 6

isnt zis gun bug happens after you use the zis barrage?
20 Apr 2020, 16:24 PM
#19
avatar of Vipper

Posts: 13150 | Subs: 1

nice work. Think this is an example of how sharing info can help fix a number of issues in the game.
20 Apr 2020, 16:39 PM
#20
avatar of luvnest
Strategist Badge
Patrion 39

Posts: 1090 | Subs: 20

I never thought I would see the day:unsure:
1 user is browsing this thread: 1 guest

Ladders Top 10

  • #
    Steam Alias
    W
    L
    %
    Streak
Data provided by Relic Relic Entertainment

Replay highlight

VS
  • Oberkommando West flag Oziligath
  • The British Forces flag T.R. Sidewinder
uploaded by Oziligath

Board Info

217 users are online: 1 member and 216 guests
sopamanxx
40 posts in the last 24h
200 posts in the last week
810 posts in the last month
Registered members: 34918
Welcome our newest member, Leitzels
Most online: 1221 users on 25 Feb 2020, 12:03 PM