Login

russian armor

Things that ruin team games, but don't affect 1v1

WHO
18 May 2016, 14:46 PM

This is my first time posting in the balance forum! My complaint isn't that any unit is particularly OP, just that the unit/ability/whatever severely limits strategy and commander choice. Further, I'd like to build a list of things that can be changed that won't affect 1v1 very much, but are problematic in team games. Here are my thoughts:

- All Factions
  • Forward Retreat
Forward is probably the most strategy crippling ability in large team games. It forces you into either having a forward retreat of your own (GG Ost/Sov) or picking a commander/build order with some sort of heavy indirect fire to punish the forward retreat. That's entire factions, team compositions, and commanders that are immediately out of the meta.
  • Tech/Building Independent Call-in Vehicles
So you've choked the enemy out of fuel the whole game, you've done well on VPs, they're way behind on tech, should be GG, but NOPE! You've got to deal with 2x/3x/4x Heavy tanks that can be called in without having any sort of building capable of tank production. This goes for OKW's King Tiger as well. You've wiped all a player's poorly placed HQs off the map? Your opponent still gets to build KTs as a final "fuck garden you" before the game can be over. This could affect 1v1 as well, but in team games, it's much easier to turtle behind your allies and hold a single point long enough to save up for a heavy. This means call-in heavies are almost always inevitable, which means your commander selection and BO always have to account for this, further limiting the meta.

Other factions in no particular order:

- UKF
  • Multiple active Bofors/Mortar Pits Per Player