Login

russian armor

British Emplacements - Need help understanding them.

13 Jan 2018, 07:07 AM

Hi guys,

I have logged quite a lot of hours in the COH tools but at best I'm still a capable novice. I'm hitting a few walls and one of them is emplacements.

My current end goal is to have a 25lb gun in the coh 1 style emplacement base.
(armies\common\structures\artillerypit\artillerypit)

I've copied the hardpoints and abilities over from the Platoon CP as that seemed the easiest method. I also copied the crew_ext over.

To be clear the weapon works but the gun it's self is invisible, as the gun can't be seen I don't know if the crew gunner/loader etc is ok or not either.

There is an animation state for weapon visibility "maingun_visibility" and I set "do_action_state_name" to on. What concerns me is the available states seem to be a carbon copy of the Platoon CP so I'm not even sure they work on the "artillerypit" entity.

I'd obviously like help getting this to work but more than that I'd like to better understand how emplacements work on a sort of step by step basis. The problem is most of the options within the modding tools I've had to work out with trial and error but there's certain aspects I find very hard and this is one of them. The problem stems for information overload and I find it hard to back track what each thing does to see cause and effect so I really could do with someone to help me understand it.

Thanks.
13 Jan 2018, 11:07 AM
Senior Modmaker Badge

There are two types of emplacements:
1. The mortar pit and the bofors are one entity with the weapons included.
2. The 17 pdr consists of two entities, the gun and the pit separate.

I recommend to clone the 17pdr and start form there. Then use this model for the gun: "armies\british\weapons\25_pounder\25_pounder" and "armies\common\structures\artillerypit\artillerypit" for the pit.