Login

russian armor

how can i make my map look more realistic.

23 Jan 2014, 00:31 AM

Even after all the tutorials I've watched and read, every time I play my map it still doesn't feel right to me.

This is my first map and I made this map to try to make it look professional. Since this is my first attempt I'm not trying to make this map balanced nor am I focusing much on the gameplay issues, I just want to make it look good so I can proceed to making other maps.

My goal for this map is to make a good farm/village setting.

What can I do to the farm and crops to make it look and feel more realistic?

Does my village look ok?

Did I put enough detail in them?

Did I put enough detail into the forest in the middle?

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=219713816
23 Jan 2014, 00:47 AM

DrunkinGambit made an amazing tutorial on detailing here...
http://www.coh2.org/guides/12949/introduction-to-map-detailing

as for opinions, post some screenshots please...
23 Jan 2014, 01:17 AM
23 Jan 2014, 14:07 PM
Admin Black Badge
Patrion 15

One way is to reverse-engineer stock maps. Just take a look at how Relic does it and you should be able to copy. Even better would be learning it and then adjusting it to your own style. I'm sure you've got one already.
23 Jan 2014, 18:46 PM

is there any way i could see what relic's .sgb files so i can see what relic has done in the map editor?

valve had examples in the hammer editor that you could take a look around and see what they've done to their maps, i hope relic did the same thing.
24 Jan 2014, 05:08 AM
Admin Black Badge
Patrion 15

Save this as Extract_MPScenarios.bat to your CoH2 Installation folder:
Code
archive.exe -a CoH2\Archives\MPScenarios.sga -e CoH2\Data

and run it. It will extract all Multiplayer maps to CoH2/Data/Scenarios/Mp.
24 Jan 2014, 10:17 AM
Developer Relic Badge

I've meant to do this for a while! My mapping technique has had to evolve rapidly since COH1, so I've wanted to see these properly.