Login

russian armor

Tutorial: Reshade for Company of Heroes 2

29 Jul 2019, 17:04 PM
#1
avatar of JibberJabberJobber

Posts: 1362 | Subs: 3

Anyone here know about Reshade? It's a "post-processing injector" that works for most games with countless of options to alter/improve how your game looks:

Screenshots


Anti-aliasing is off for these screenshots to showcase SMAA.

Here's a tutorial on how to install Reshade:
1. Download Reshade from https://reshade.me and open setup.
2. Select RelicCoH2.exe in Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Company of Heroes 2
3. Press Direct3D 10+.
4. Select to install legacy standard effects.
5. Download a preset from https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/game/796
6. Put the .txt file in the aforementioned CoH2 folder.
7. Start CoH2, open ReShade and select the preset you've downloaded.

About my preset ("Jibber's Color Correction Shader 2.0"):
29 Jul 2019, 17:22 PM
#2
avatar of Maret

Posts: 661

Coudln't see any images, just white canvas. Opera and Fireforx.
29 Jul 2019, 17:40 PM
#3
avatar of JibberJabberJobber

Posts: 1362 | Subs: 3

jump backJump back to quoted post29 Jul 2019, 17:22 PMMaret
Coudln't see any images, just white canvas. Opera and Fireforx.


Anyone else with this issue?
29 Jul 2019, 17:41 PM
#4
avatar of Sander93

Posts: 2429 | Subs: 5

Anyone else with this issue?


Yes, page won't load.
29 Jul 2019, 17:52 PM
#5
avatar of JibberJabberJobber

Posts: 1362 | Subs: 3



Yes, page won't load.


Links updated, these should work.
29 Jul 2019, 18:47 PM
#6
avatar of A. Soldier
Social Media Manager Badge

Posts: 2730 | Subs: 2

Damn, found some presets for CoH that make it look even better than CoH2, thanks.
29 Jul 2019, 18:52 PM
#7
avatar of JibberJabberJobber

Posts: 1362 | Subs: 3

Damn, found some presets for CoH that make it look even better than CoH2, thanks.


What, this one? Or do you mean another preset?
29 Jul 2019, 19:32 PM
#8
avatar of A. Soldier
Social Media Manager Badge

Posts: 2730 | Subs: 2



What, this one? Or do you mean another preset?


https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/game/34/

Apparently there's 4 for CoH and 5 for CoH2 on the site with the pics you provided.
29 Jul 2019, 19:50 PM
#9
avatar of JibberJabberJobber

Posts: 1362 | Subs: 3



https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/game/34/

Apparently there's 4 for CoH and 5 for CoH2 on the site with the pics you provided.


Ah ok, glad you like the program! :)

My advise would be to tinker with the settings yourself a bit to adjust a preset to your liking. Some tend to overdo on contrast changes / saturation / distracting effects, which can become quite tiring while playing. I personally like as little effects as possible to give me the result I want.
29 Jul 2019, 23:21 PM
#10
avatar of JibberJabberJobber

Posts: 1362 | Subs: 3

Can anyone confirm it works? Sander just told me it didn't for him.
3 Aug 2019, 19:05 PM
#11
avatar of JibberJabberJobber

Posts: 1362 | Subs: 3

Updated tutorial, it should finally work now.
10 Aug 2019, 01:34 AM
#12
avatar of FoolishViceroy

Posts: 1

Did everything according to the tutorial, Reshade panel is still not showing in-game. :/
10 Aug 2019, 08:20 AM
#13
avatar of Spanky
Senior Strategist Badge

Posts: 1669 | Subs: 2

https://www.coh2.org/topic/35324/free-graphical-upgrade-reshade-sweetfx Check this out, I had it on my desktop pc and worked nicely, unfortunately wont work on my laptop. But this is a good upgrade for coh2 graphics.
10 Aug 2019, 12:11 PM
#14
avatar of Vykraznar

Posts: 14

The reshade settings panel appears just fine but when I press the "End" key it doesn't load your preset.
20 Aug 2019, 10:05 AM
#15
avatar of JibberJabberJobber

Posts: 1362 | Subs: 3

Because some people mention the program still not working, I've removed my settings for ReShade and only left my preset for the game and a custom effect (CAS.fx).

Here are all the files that are related to Reshade after installation: https://i.imgur.com/W9UEojb.png

reshaders-shaders = All effects that can be chosen if you make a Reshade preset.
ReShade.ini = Settings for ReShade itself, like the hotkey for enabling and disabling the preset.
DerbyHat.ini = My ReShade effects preset for CoH2.
dxgi.dll = Required for the ReShade program to work.

if ReShade didn't work for you, please delete these files and redo the steps in the OP. If you open CoH2 now, you should get a ReShade tutorial for first time users. Make sure to select my preset manually.

Here's how my preset looks if you press "active to top": https://i.imgur.com/1FnG1pa.png
29 Jan 2020, 23:42 PM
#16
avatar of JibberJabberJobber

Posts: 1362 | Subs: 3

Because of renewed interest generated by Tightrope's video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HxgtC9qH_RU) I've updated the guide. Sadly the sharpening of my preset wasn't working correctly in his video, so you can't really see its full potential.

Changed the following:
- Rewritten the guide.
- Readded the screenshots, my old preset somehow got removed from https://sfx.thelazy.net
- Made my preset use Lumasharpen.fx instead of the custom CAS.fx, to avoid overcomplicating things.
- Added Clarity.fx to my preset to further improve sharpening and make the game appear brighter.
1 user is browsing this thread: 1 guest

Ladders Top 10

  • #
    Steam Alias
    W
    L
    %
    Streak
Data provided by Relic Relic Entertainment

Replay highlight

VS
  • Oberkommando West flag Zyswen
  • The British Forces flag T.R. Opportunity Cost
Faymonville Approach
Faymonville Approach Honor
Honor it
3
Download
Download
15
uploaded by Zyswen

Board Info

196 users are online: 9 members and 187 guests
elchino7, Boz_Hower, roseharry9991, Crecer13, WhiteFlash, Vipper, Zyswen, JohnSmith, Musti
135 posts in the last 24h
527 posts in the last week
3758 posts in the last month
Registered members: 25142
Welcome our newest member, plumba881xd
Most online: 1221 users on 25 Feb 2020, 12:03 PM