Login

russian armor

Mod Builder saving to COH2 alpha folder

9 Feb 2017, 13:05 PM
#1
avatar of Planet Smasher
Senior Modmaker Badge

Posts: 632 | Subs: 1

For the last couple of days, whenever I build a new version of one of my mods, the Mod Builder has been saving it to "C:\Users\X\Documents\my games\Company of Heroes 2 Alpha\mods\tuning", even though the game path is set correctly. I can just copy the SGA file into the correct folder, but it has become a bit annoying. Has anyone experienced something similar and maybe found a workaround?
10 Feb 2017, 13:23 PM
#2
avatar of Mr.Smith

Posts: 2636 | Subs: 18

I thought I was the only one going crazy.

The workaround I found to this is create a directory symbolic link between the Alpha/mods directory to CoH2/mods directory using the following command:

mklink /D Link Target


(target needs to be an absolute path; not a relative path)

I've no idea what caused it and when, though.
10 Feb 2017, 20:33 PM
#3
avatar of ZombiFrancis

Posts: 2742

I suddenly don't feel so bad that I've put the last few weekends into worldbuilder instead of mod tools.

I would prefer to not mess with mklink anymore than necessary. Especially with how finicky mod tools is woth file pathing to begin with.

But hey at least it's a working fix?
10 Feb 2017, 22:30 PM
#4
avatar of Janne252
Admin Black Badge
Patrion 15

Posts: 3421 | Subs: 10



Edit: Relic updated tools, the my games path was corrected.
10 Feb 2017, 22:47 PM
#5
avatar of Planet Smasher
Senior Modmaker Badge

Posts: 632 | Subs: 1

[...]

You're a magician. Thanks a lot!

That just leaves the question of why this happened in the first place. When Relic posted something about "updating the Mod Tools", this was not what I hoped for :D
10 Feb 2017, 22:53 PM
#6
avatar of Janne252
Admin Black Badge
Patrion 15

Posts: 3421 | Subs: 10


You're a magician. Thanks a lot!

That just leaves the question of why this happened in the first place. When Relic posted something about "updating the Mod Tools", this was not what I hoped for :D


When did this "updating the Mod Tools" happen?
10 Feb 2017, 23:13 PM
#7
avatar of Planet Smasher
Senior Modmaker Badge

Posts: 632 | Subs: 1

When did this "updating the Mod Tools" happen?

Not yet. This is what Kyle wrote:

New Content (UGC)

Although we plan to continue releasing new in-game content in future updates, we will now be leveraging UGC such as vehicle skins and maps to help offer new gameplay experiences to the community. We hope that advances to COH2’s modding tools will also take place in the coming months, allowing additional forms of content to be created by the community as well - however this is still to be confirmed.

https://community.companyofheroes.com/discussion/comment/260691/

I just meant that the introduction of this bug might be the first thing that has happened to the Mod Tools in a while :D
14 Feb 2017, 15:04 PM
#8
avatar of Olhausen
Modmaker Badge

Posts: 245

@ Jane Thanks for the help ;)
1 user is browsing this thread: 1 guest
GCS3: Quarter Finals

Ladders Top 10

  • #
    Steam Alias
    W
    L
    %
    Streak
Data provided by Relic Relic Entertainment

Replay highlight

VS
  • Oberkommando West flag Oziligath
  • The British Forces flag T.R. Sidewinder
uploaded by Oziligath

Board Info

86 users are online: 1 member and 85 guests
Kurobane
16 posts in the last 24h
130 posts in the last week
959 posts in the last month
Registered members: 32100
Welcome our newest member, Guidaqwd
Most online: 1221 users on 25 Feb 2020, 12:03 PM