Login

russian armor

Mortar Tech Tree Placement

25 Jun 2016, 19:03 PM
#1
avatar of Francis

Posts: 61

"MY" view is that the US mortar in tier 0 makes it a bit too easy to get out.

So, how about, placing the mortar in the Sergeant tier, and moving the pack howitzers to either doctrines (I.E. replacing the 57mm AT gun from Airborne and Recon Support, since the Pack howitzer was really a mountain and airborne infantry weapon), OR....

"MY" second suggestion is the least likely one to have everyone to agree, but i'd say make it air droppable by the Major (no really...)


Any other suggestions? :help:
25 Jun 2016, 19:10 PM
#2
avatar of Omega_Warrior

Posts: 2561

The entire point of the mortar was to add diversity to USF opening, and so they can actually engage garrisons in the first few minutes of the game. Your suggestion basically doesn't address the reason the mortar was added in the first place.

Once the mortar gets some well deserved nerfs to it's stats it will be just fine. Just like it was fine in the mod before they replaced it with a mortar that was twice as good for no reason.
25 Jun 2016, 19:21 PM
#3
avatar of PencilBatRation

Posts: 794



All we wanted was a shitty, short range, manpower only smoke dispenser, so that we could open up more playstyles.



This post reflects my own view, which I've stated earlier.
25 Jun 2016, 19:45 PM
#4
avatar of Arclyte

Posts: 692




This post reflects my own view, which I've stated earlier.


"a shitty smoke dispenser"

lol, of course that's your view

If wehr can get their MG42 out of their t0 base, then I don't see why USF can't have a t0 mortar.
25 Jun 2016, 19:52 PM
#5
avatar of PencilBatRation

Posts: 794

I can't see why grens aren't allowed to have 2 additional models and be built from the HQ for 280 MP either.:guyokay:
25 Jun 2016, 20:43 PM
#6
avatar of some one

Posts: 934

Mortar tier is fine
Bugs and accuracy and rate of fire is not fine
25 Jun 2016, 20:45 PM
#7
avatar of Firesparks

Posts: 1930

the mortar needs its performance brought in line with the rest of the mortar first. the current us mortar would have been overpowered with any of the five factions.
25 Jun 2016, 22:42 PM
#8
avatar of BeefSurge

Posts: 1891

I can't see why grens aren't allowed to have 2 additional models and be built from the HQ for 280 MP either.:guyokay:


Okay then increase RA to conscript level and have fun with that bleed, you'll build 2 Grens tops.
25 Jun 2016, 22:45 PM
#9
avatar of Katitof

Posts: 17583 | Subs: 8

People complain that USF only blobs, because they can't do anything else.

Relic adds another unit they could add to BOs.

People complain that USF does not only blob.

#coh2community :snfBarton:
25 Jun 2016, 22:57 PM
#10
avatar of Domine

Posts: 500

jump backJump back to quoted post25 Jun 2016, 22:45 PMKatitof
People complain that USF only blobs, because they can't do anything else.

Relic adds another unit they could add to BOs.

People complain that USF does not only blob.

#coh2community :snfBarton:



Okay, and what was wrong with pre-patch USF that they cannot do anything but blob? And how comes there are so many USF players that don't blob and make it into top ten?


And what makes you think USF blobbing has suddenly stopped??



And btw, you consider the fact that currently USF has the best mortar in the game at T0 fine, am I understanding that correctly?
25 Jun 2016, 23:04 PM
#11
avatar of Katitof

Posts: 17583 | Subs: 8

Replace blob with spam. :sibPheasant:
nee
25 Jun 2016, 23:53 PM
#12
avatar of nee

Posts: 1216

Put Mortar into LT tier, or make it a T2-3 unlock like OKW MG34, and reduce LT tech cost. Why is it even so high anyways? Besides Soviets everyone else has MG at T0, and Soviets only need 20 fuel to access T2 for their team weapons.

If you want to talk about diversifying opening strategies, then a more attractive LT investment first is the way to go. Besides 50 fuel cost, LT teching takes quite a while as well.
26 Jun 2016, 03:19 AM
#13
avatar of PencilBatRation

Posts: 794


And allow 2x lmg42 upgrades.:guyokay:

jump backJump back to quoted post25 Jun 2016, 23:53 PMnee
Put Mortar into LT tier, or make it a T2-3 unlock like OKW MG34, and reduce LT tech cost.
Lol that won't solve anything but make a 3 minute M20 plausible.


The only solution is removing it altogether as both axis factions are heavily reliant on building and cover usage to have a slim change against RM.
26 Jun 2016, 03:55 AM
#14
avatar of medhood

Posts: 621

You could put the .50cal in T1 and Mortar in T2 people would complain about, it doesnt matter what extra unit is place in t1 people are gonna complain about it cause they were used to Rifle spam

They just need to nerf the Mortar so its good against only static MGs, Buildings and good at popping smoke that is what USF needed in the early game

Not a No-skill unit that erases squads off the map
nee
26 Jun 2016, 07:32 AM
#15
avatar of nee

Posts: 1216

And allow 2x lmg42 upgrades.:guyokay:

that won't solve anything but make a 3 minute M20 plausible.
Ah forgot about the vehicles; raise their fuel cost?
1 user is browsing this thread: 1 guest
Diversity Cup Isi vs. Inca

Ladders Top 10

  • #
    Steam Alias
    W
    L
    %
    Streak
Data provided by Relic Relic Entertainment

Replay highlight

VS
  • U.S. Forces flag shadics ARG.
  • U.S. Forces flag TüMe
  • Ostheer flag The101stAirBorne
  • Ostheer flag Clororaa
uploaded by TüMe

Board Info

272 users are online: 1 member and 271 guests
Crecer13
10 posts in the last 24h
119 posts in the last week
584 posts in the last month
Registered members: 36310
Welcome our newest member, luszczykpahq
Most online: 1221 users on 25 Feb 2020, 12:03 PM