Login

russian armor

Tank Turret Lock

11 Mar 2015, 19:46 PM
#1
avatar of iDolize

Posts: 81

Nothing is more annoying when your heavy tank (Like a slow KT) is chasing an enemy tank, and your kt starts swiveling its turret to shoot at the, rifleman or even an enemy vehcile (if toggle is turned on) or some unimportant unit that its passing, and by the time you catch up to the chasing tank, you KT is aiming backwards:/

I know this can be avoided by targeting an enemy unit in the direction of where you would like the turret to face, but sometimes there are no enemy units in front of you.

Would an attack ground command face the turret in the general direction youd like to face? The only downside is then you must reload.

Has anyone else experienced this?
11 Mar 2015, 19:49 PM
#2
avatar of FichtenMoped
Editor in Chief Badge
Patrion 310

Posts: 4604 | Subs: 3

Just set the target priorities to tanks :)
11 Mar 2015, 20:51 PM
#3
avatar of Chiro
Donator 11

Posts: 90

all tanks should get "priotize vehilces"
12 Mar 2015, 01:49 AM
#4
avatar of Nuclear Arbitor
Patrion 28

Posts: 2470

you can use attack ground but if you do it within their attack range they'll stop moving. i suppose you could use it outside of attack range and it might prevent the turret from targeting something else.
12 Mar 2015, 04:34 AM
#5
avatar of pigsoup
Patrion 14

Posts: 4290 | Subs: 2

you need hold fire rather then prioritise vehicle. lets say if you are cahsing an almost dead tiger. then it goes around a corner. then a puma sticks out and you waste a shot and a reload time on that stupid puma.
12 Mar 2015, 06:48 AM
#6
avatar of medhood

Posts: 621

jump backJump back to quoted post11 Mar 2015, 20:51 PMChiro
all tanks should get "priotize vehilces"

That would be so useful on the kv-8 or Howitzer Motor Carriage but I get what you mean all general purpose tanks should have it
12 Mar 2015, 08:11 AM
#7
avatar of tuvok
Benefactor 115

Posts: 786

nothing you can do about it, attack ground will make you stop, and you can't attack ground out of range.
12 Mar 2015, 09:04 AM
#8
avatar of CptEend
Patrion 14

Posts: 369

you can use attack ground but if you do it within their attack range they'll stop moving. i suppose you could use it outside of attack range and it might prevent the turret from targeting something else.


You can't use attack ground outside of weapon range, so that won't work
12 Mar 2015, 22:36 PM
#9
avatar of ASneakyFox

Posts: 365

im sure itd never happen in coh2. but in the next game- they ought to use T G B in the normal grid for extra commands, and make the upgrade hotkeys be Y H N . Theres just so many more actions that a lot of squads could really use to help them act in the way you want them to.

Anything that involves a team weapon (bazooka, flamethrower, MG, etc) needs to have a hold fire option.

All units need to have a priotize vehicle option (maybe ctrl+hold fire = priotize vehicles?)

All turreted tanks need to have a "face turret" command.

All units need the ability to target a squad without moving (eg hold fire until the target gets in range, then attack it while maintaining position)
13 Mar 2015, 14:18 PM
#10
avatar of Mittens
Donator 11

Posts: 1251

The Sherman often suffers from this. It needs a prioritize vehicles button such as the Jackson.
1 user is browsing this thread: 1 guest
Thank you everyone for making WCS possible!
Event in Progress

Ladders Top 10

  • #
    Steam Alias
    W
    L
    %
    Streak
Data provided by Relic Relic Entertainment

Replay highlight

VS
  • The British Forces flag [c.B] Guard2707
  • Soviets flag [c.B] Brosras
  • Oberkommando West flag 女性主意
  • Ostheer flag 101 Airborne Divison
uploaded by koreanmaphack

Board Info

182 users are online: 7 members and 175 guests
Alphrum, VonIvan, Endeffektdelirium, koreanmaphack, Nashka, AmiPolizeiFunk, Smaug
177 posts in the last 24h
1593 posts in the last week
7055 posts in the last month
Registered members: 65561
Welcome our newest member, Kothaq20
Most online: 918 users on 27 Oct 2019, 01:03 AM