Login

russian armor

How to create realistic fields??

9 Nov 2020, 19:16 PM
#1
avatar of knox85

Posts: 33

Hello guys,

I really need your help. My field look like crap.
I do not know how to make them realistic.

I have uploaded some examples. How do you create fields?

Please see links.







Thank you very much for your support.
9 Nov 2020, 21:14 PM
#2
avatar of Rosbone
Senior Mapmaker Badge

Posts: 1444 | Subs: 2

Knox are these your fields? Or fields you are trying to imitate?

Fields are made with SPLINES and a field texture. The best way to use SPLINES and SPLATS is to adjust the opacity (ALPHA).

Most of the pics you have posted are of a heavy dirt field. This probably has its opacity set to 100% (cant see thru it).

The picture with the green field probably has the opacity set to about 50%.

To adjust the opacity of a spline you:
- click on splines from menu bar.
- It will default to TEXTURE mode. If not select TEXTURE mode from right side toolbar.
- Click on COLORIZE button.
- A dialog box appears with keyframes that let you set the color and ALPHA(opacity) for each keyframe.
- Click on a keyframe (little rectangles on bar) to edit the color and alpha for that keyframe.

I get decent results by:
- laying down my field splines
- Varying the splines position, X or Y mirror, etc to randomize the repeating texture look.
- Adjust the keyframes with some random ALPHA values.
- Paint under the spline with the TILE editor.
- Place some large rock/dirt/hay splats on top and adjust color and opacity(alpha) for those.
10 Nov 2020, 08:54 AM
#3
avatar of knox85

Posts: 33

Knox are these your fields? Or fields you are trying to imitate?

Fields are made with SPLINES and a field texture. The best way to use SPLINES and SPLATS is to adjust the opacity (ALPHA).

Most of the pics you have posted are of a heavy dirt field. This probably has its opacity set to 100% (cant see thru it).

The picture with the green field probably has the opacity set to about 50%.

To adjust the opacity of a spline you:
- click on splines from menu bar.
- It will default to TEXTURE mode. If not select TEXTURE mode from right side toolbar.
- Click on COLORIZE button.
- A dialog box appears with keyframes that let you set the color and ALPHA(opacity) for each keyframe.
- Click on a keyframe (little rectangles on bar) to edit the color and alpha for that keyframe.

I get decent results by:
- laying down my field splines
- Varying the splines position, X or Y mirror, etc to randomize the repeating texture look.
- Adjust the keyframes with some random ALPHA values.
- Paint under the spline with the TILE editor.
- Place some large rock/dirt/hay splats on top and adjust color and opacity(alpha) for those.


No...those are not my fields ...:(

My fields look like spalts. They do not look natural. Even when I use plates like gras. They look not realistic.
Is there a chance to pick the color of the field exactly or do I have to guess the color?
10 Nov 2020, 16:32 PM
#4
avatar of Siphon X.
Senior Editor Badge

Posts: 1137 | Subs: 2

While Rosbone mentioned that you can change the color in the menu, I think the more relevant part of his post was the ALPHA setting, which just happens to be in the same menu.

I found creating realistic fields pretty tricky as well. Rosbone already listed everything relevant.

What I'd like to add is that lighting is really important. The textures in the post you show look great and 3D because of the lighting produces nice, strong shadows.

My map, "Fields of Winnekendonk" is based on a historic battle and I tried to recreate the setting there. I wanted North being up, and the battle happened around dusk in overall rather foggy weather on muddy fields. Problem was that when I added more fog and placed the sun in where it roughly would have been historically, the fields would look flat without any reflections on the mud puddles.

So after some experimentation I had to put the sun in the North (ouch) and reduce the fog to actually make the fields look way more plastic and wet (still not superhappy with how they turned out, but it is waaaay better looking now than how they looked originally).

10 Nov 2020, 18:04 PM
#5
avatar of Rosbone
Senior Mapmaker Badge

Posts: 1444 | Subs: 2

Knox85 here is the ORG section on splines. The first video may help get you started.

https://www.coh2.org/guides/10390/worldbuilder-the-spline-tool-in-detail
11 Nov 2020, 10:01 AM
#6
avatar of knox85

Posts: 33

jump backJump back to quoted post10 Nov 2020, 18:04 PMRosbone
Knox85 here is the ORG section on splines. The first video may help get you started.

https://www.coh2.org/guides/10390/worldbuilder-the-spline-tool-in-detail


Thank you very much.

In regard to the weather I noticed that sometimes I choose rain for example and then hit apply. But the rain won't start.
Is there any trick to it?

How do you atrt creating your weather of your map? your atmosphere?
11 Nov 2020, 13:22 PM
#7
avatar of Rosbone
Senior Mapmaker Badge

Posts: 1444 | Subs: 2

jump backJump back to quoted post11 Nov 2020, 10:01 AMknox85
Is there any trick to it?

The actual amount of rain that falls is under the slider DENSITY. 0% = no rain. 100% = your FPS will die because of the monsoon rain :)

Then you need to pick the actual texture used to draw the rain.

Then you can adjust how much of that texture to use with the UV settings.
1 = 100% of the texture.
.1 = 10% of the texture.
11 Nov 2020, 13:28 PM
#8
avatar of Rosbone
Senior Mapmaker Badge

Posts: 1444 | Subs: 2

Here are the settings for PORT OF HAMBURG as an example
16 Nov 2020, 18:38 PM
#9
avatar of knox85

Posts: 33

jump backJump back to quoted post11 Nov 2020, 13:28 PMRosbone
Here are the settings for PORT OF HAMBURG as an example


thank you.

Could you also please explain the mud/snow options in atmosphere?
How can I change the hight of the mud I draw.
16 Nov 2020, 18:56 PM
#10
avatar of Rosbone
Senior Mapmaker Badge

Posts: 1444 | Subs: 2

jump backJump back to quoted post16 Nov 2020, 18:38 PMknox85
Could you also please explain the mud/snow options in atmosphere?
How can I change the hight of the mud I draw.

The depth of the Snow/Mud is adjusted (painted) in the HEIGHT/TERRAIN tool.

On the toolbar you have two dropdown lists:
LMB (Left Mouse Button)
RMB (Right Mouse Button)

1) Set the LMB to SET VALUE.
2) In the HEIGHT textbox enter a value of height (use .23).
3) Click on the option button EDIT TOP LAYER (ie snow).
4) Paint where you want the deepest snow on your terrain with the LMB.
5) Smooth the snow edges with the RMB.

You never want to paint snow above .24 height. That is considered DEEP SNOW and will slow units moving thru it. In the overlay menu you can switch your view to VIEW DEEP SNOW and deep snow areas are painted RED so you can find them easily.

You can adjust the textures used for the snow in the TERRAIN menu.

Just remember that a lot of snow will make your map run slow in the game (Kills FPS). The size of the map matters. So 1v1 are not too badly affected. But a full snow 4v4 may have terrible FPS late game.

EDIT: Check these links out.
How To Frost
How To Tactical Snow
Why do snow maps kill FPS
24 Nov 2020, 11:15 AM
#11
avatar of knox85

Posts: 33

THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!! :)
24 Nov 2020, 11:15 AM
#12
avatar of knox85

Posts: 33

jump backJump back to quoted post16 Nov 2020, 18:56 PMRosbone

The depth of the Snow/Mud is adjusted (painted) in the HEIGHT/TERRAIN tool.

On the toolbar you have two dropdown lists:
LMB (Left Mouse Button)
RMB (Right Mouse Button)

1) Set the LMB to SET VALUE.
2) In the HEIGHT textbox enter a value of height (use .23).
3) Click on the option button EDIT TOP LAYER (ie snow).
4) Paint where you want the deepest snow on your terrain with the LMB.
5) Smooth the snow edges with the RMB.

You never want to paint snow above .24 height. That is considered DEEP SNOW and will slow units moving thru it. In the overlay menu you can switch your view to VIEW DEEP SNOW and deep snow areas are painted RED so you can find them easily.

You can adjust the textures used for the snow in the TERRAIN menu.

Just remember that a lot of snow will make your map run slow in the game (Kills FPS). The size of the map matters. So 1v1 are not too badly affected. But a full snow 4v4 may have terrible FPS late game.

EDIT: Check these links out.
How To Frost
How To Tactical Snow
Why do snow maps kill FPS


THANK YOU!!! :)
1 user is browsing this thread: 1 guest

Ladders Top 10

  • #
    Steam Alias
    W
    L
    %
    Streak
Data provided by Relic Relic Entertainment

Replay highlight

Board Info

227 users are online: 2 members and 225 guests
GachiGasm, Katitof
63 posts in the last 24h
409 posts in the last week
2405 posts in the last month
Registered members: 25199
Welcome our newest member, artoflivingg
Most online: 1221 users on 25 Feb 2020, 12:03 PM