Login

russian armor

NEW PLAYER TIPS - 1v1 USF, Post 100 Automatch 50% win

25 Nov 2014, 05:30 AM

Hi All,

I made a Balance feedback and just wanted to also make a 'TIPS' thread. As my win% shows, im not a pro by any measure, but there are various tips that ive learnt over the course of my first 100 games and hopefully this thread will help other new USF 1v1 players.

GENERAL TIPS:

- Know the maps. v/s both OKW/OSTH its key to deny them fuel while having enough fuel for yourself. To a lesser extend this is also true for Ammo. Most 2p maps will have 2 fuels and 2 ammo points. This is going to be the focus of your fights. Individual maps have key choke points or critical areas where eventually most fights land up - you must try and control these regions at all times. (I will make a map specific tip section in later posts maybe)

- Keep your squads together: Whether its Volks spam, or a Kubel with Strums or Grens with MG42s, your best chance of success is to ensure flanking with 2-3 Rifle squads during an engagement. Use garrisoning to buy time (remember Strums will eat up rifles inside a building and vice-versa i.e. holed up strums will eat up solo Rifles who are outside)

- Volks are great at long range, charge them down. Strums are great at close range, run away from them into cover or into firing range of another rifle squad. Against Grens its usually an even fight, so look for superior cover. Against Kubels, you need to flank, just as with any MG squad. (Running into a nearby building works well vs Kubels)

- Its easy to get trigger happy with early Grenades. They not only delay your FUEL-based tech, but theyre easy to avoid by decent players and will lead to Ammo shortage, which you desperately need for BARs/Zookas. Unless facing a MG spammer, using garrisoned MG42/34s avoid teching Grenades.