Login

russian armor

US faction too effective?

29 Jul 2014, 00:57 AM

That's the feeling I get when playing against US. I might be wrong but I don't think I am. Obviously I'm not a pro player so I would like to know their opinion as well in this topic.

Anyway my general concern is that US as a whole is a faction that over performs in general. Rifles, while expensive, are too strong early game and they scale really well into late one plus they can adapt to every situation becoming very good AI units or decent AT squads. Also in latter stage of the game their dps allows them to simply walk into any kind of HMG and overwhelm it using sheer firepower.
They get a free unit every time they tech up.

US army got a bunch of light vehicles to support it's infantry giving them very strong mid game. Infamous AA truck being one of the examples although recently tone down is still very good vehicle.

Transition into late game allows them to utilize very effective and very cheap medium tanks.
Easy 8 being simply the best medium tank in the game being in the same time ridiculously cheap can almost go toe in toe with Panther. It won't take it down by itself of course but with support that's doable. If we compare the cost of both of these units (E8 and PzV) and their performance Panther gets out shadow quite significantly. E8 being call in tank will save US player teching cost what results in economy advantage allowing to save fuel for the second Sherman in a short period of time. Usually there are 2 of these when first Panther comes out.

Regular Sherman while not as effective still can be produced in great numbers and its ability to switch between AI and At rounds allows it to be quite effective all around tank. Not to the degree of E8 but that is reflected in its cost.